The Dangers of Smoking in Bed: Stories (Paperback)

₱969.00
This title is being replenished. Stock arrival may take up to 6-8 weeks.
Only 1 left
SKU
9780593134092

KIRKUS PRIZE FINALIST • ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: Oprah Daily, New York Public Library, LitHub, Kirkus

Mariana Enriquez has been critically lauded for her unconventional and sociopolitical stories of the macabre. Populated by unruly teenagers, crooked witches, homeless ghosts, and hungry women, they walk the uneasy line between urban realism and horror. The stories in her new collection are as terrifying as they are socially conscious, and press into being the unspoken—fetish, illness, the female body, the darkness of human history—with bracing urgency. A woman is sexually obsessed with the human heart; a lost, rotting baby crawls out of a backyard and into a bedroom; a pair of teenage girls can’t let go of their idol; an entire neighborhood is cursed to death when it fails to respond correctly to a moral dilemma.

Get The Dangers of Smoking in Bed: Stories (Paperback) by Mariana Enriquez and other contemporary fiction books online and at Fully Booked bookstore branches in the Philippines.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE INTERNATIONAL BOOKER PRIZE

“The lauded Argentine author of What We Lost in the Fire returns with enthralling stories conjured from literary sorcery” (O: The Oprah Magazine), in the tradition of Shirley Jackson and Jorge Luis Borges.

KIRKUS PRIZE FINALIST • ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: Oprah Daily, New York Public Library, LitHub, Kirkus Reviews 

“Mariana Enriquez’s stories are smoky, carnal, and dazzling.”—Lauren Groff, author of Matrix and Fates and Furies

Mariana Enriquez has been critically lauded for her unconventional and sociopolitical stories of the macabre. Populated by unruly teenagers, crooked witches, homeless ghosts, and hungry women, they walk the uneasy line between urban realism and horror.

The stories in her new collection are as terrifying as they are socially conscious, and press into being the unspoken—fetish, illness, the female body, the darkness of human history—with bracing urgency. A woman is sexually obsessed with the human heart; a lost, rotting baby crawls out of a backyard and into a bedroom; a pair of teenage girls can’t let go of their idol; an entire neighborhood is cursed to death when it fails to respond correctly to a moral dilemma.
 
Written against the backdrop of contemporary Argentina, and with a resounding tenderness toward those in pain, in fear, and in limbo, The Dangers of Smoking in Bed is Mariana Enriquez at her most sophisticated, and most chilling.

More Information
ISBN 9780593134092
Length (cm) 13.0000
Width (cm) 1.0000
Height (cm) 20.0000
Publisher Hogarth
Publication Date Feb 1, 2022
Pages (number) 208
Genre Contemporary Fiction
Author Mariana Enriquez
Signed No
Format Paperback
Editorial Reviews

“An atmospheric assemblage of cunning and cutting Argentine gothic tales . . . insidiously absorbing, like quicksand.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Enriquez’s wide-ranging imagination and ravenous appetite for morbid scenarios often reaches sublime heights. Adventurous readers will be rewarded in these trips into the macabre.”Publishers Weekly 
 
“Enriquez['s] . . . straightforward delivery and matter-of-fact tone that belie the wild, gasp-worthy action unfolding on the page.”Booklist

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account