The Witch's Heart, Export Edition (Paperback)

₱599.00
Out of stock
SKU
9780593335925

When a banished witch falls in love with the legendary trickster Loki, she risks the wrath of the gods in this moving, subversive debut novel that reimagines Norse mythology.

Angrboda’s story begins where most witches' tales end: with a burning. A punishment from Odin for refusing to provide him with knowledge of the future, the fire leaves Angrboda injured and powerless, and she flees into the farthest reaches of a remote forest. There she is found by a man who reveals himself to be Loki, and her initial distrust of him transforms into a deep and abiding love.

Get The Witch's Heart, Export Edition (Paperback) by Genevieve Gornichec and other science fiction and fantasy books online and at Fully Booked bookstore branches in the Philippines

When a banished witch falls in love with the legendary trickster Loki, she risks the wrath of the gods in this moving, subversive debut novel that reimagines Norse mythology.

Angrboda’s story begins where most witches' tales end: with a burning. A punishment from Odin for refusing to provide him with knowledge of the future, the fire leaves Angrboda injured and powerless, and she flees into the farthest reaches of a remote forest. There she is found by a man who reveals himself to be Loki, and her initial distrust of him transforms into a deep and abiding love.

Their union produces three unusual children, each with a secret destiny, who Angrboda is keen to raise at the edge of the world, safely hidden from Odin’s all-seeing eye. But as Angrboda slowly recovers her prophetic powers, she learns that her blissful life and possibly all of existence is in danger.

With help from the fierce huntress Skadi, with whom she shares a growing bond, Angrboda must choose whether she’ll accept the fate that she’s foreseen for her beloved family...or rise to remake their future. From the most ancient of tales, this novel forges a story of love, loss, and hope for the modern age.

More Information
ISBN 9780593335925
Length (cm) 13.0000
Width (cm) 2.0000
Height (cm) 20.0000
Publisher Penguin LCC (US)
Publication Date Feb 9, 2021
Pages (number) 368
Genre Science Fiction and Fantasy
Author Genevieve Gornichec
Signed No
Format Paperback
Editorial Reviews

A retelling of the Norse legend from the viewpoint of a woman often left in the margins, this book deserves to be a classic. For readers of Madeline Miller’s Circe and the Marvel version of Loki.” – Library Journal (starred review)
 
“A feminist reimagining of the Norse myths surrounding Ragnarök…melding together the wide range of Nordic legends, this is a story of tenderness and betrayal, friendship and loyalty, family and monsters, beginnings and endings. Offer this beautiful reimagining to fans of Neil Gaiman’s Norse Mythology (2017) and Joanne M. Harris’ Loki novels.”–Booklist (starred review)

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account