K-pop Confidential (Paperback)

₱499.00
In stock
Only 1 left
SKU
9781338639933

In this romantic coming-of-age novel about chasing big dreams, a Korean-American girl travels to Seoul in hopes of debuting in a girl group at the same K-pop company behind the most popular boy band on the planet. Perfect for fans of Mary H. K. Choi and Jenny Han.

Candace Park knows a lot about playing a role. For most of her life, she's been playing the role of the quiet Korean girl who takes all AP classes and plays a classical instrument, keeping her dreams of stardom-and her obsession with SLK, K-pop's top boyband-to herself. She doesn't see how a regular girl like her could possibly become one of those K-pop goddesses she sees on YouTube. Even though she can sing. Like, really sing.

Get K-pop Confidential (Paperback) by Stephan Lee and other young general fiction books online and at Fully Booked bookstore branches in the Philippines.

In this romantic coming-of-age novel about chasing big dreams, a Korean-American girl travels to Seoul in hopes of debuting in a girl group at the same K-pop company behind the most popular boy band on the planet. Perfect for fans of Mary H. K. Choi and Jenny Han.

Candace Park knows a lot about playing a role. For most of her life, she's been playing the role of the quiet Korean girl who takes all AP classes and plays a classical instrument, keeping her dreams of stardom-and her obsession with SLK, K-pop's top boyband-to herself. She doesn't see how a regular girl like her could possibly become one of those K-pop goddesses she sees on YouTube. Even though she can sing. Like, really sing.

So when Candace secretly enters a global audition held by SLK's music label, the last thing she expects is to actually get a coveted spot in their trainee program. And convincing her strict parents to let her to go is all but impossible ... although it's nothing compared to what comes next.

Under the strict supervision of her instructors at the label's headquarters in Seoul, Candace must perfect her performance skills to within an inch of her life, learn to speak Korean fluently, and navigate the complex hierarchies of her fellow trainees, all while following the strict rules of the industry. Rule number one? NO DATING, which becomes impossible to follow when she meets a dreamy boy trainee. And in the all-out battle to debut, Candace is in danger of planting herself in the middle of a scandal lighting up the K-pop fandom around the world.

If she doesn't have what it takes to become a perfect, hair-flipping K-pop idol, what will that mean for her family, who have sacrificed everything to give her the chance? And is a spot in the most hyped K-pop girl group of all time really worth risking her friendships, her future, and everything she believes in?

More Information
ISBN 9781338639933
Length (cm) 14.0000
Width (cm) 2.0000
Height (cm) 21.0000
Publisher Point
Publication Date Sep 15, 2020
Pages (number) 336
Genre Teens & Young Adult
Author Stephan Lee
Signed No
Format Paperback
Editorial Reviews

“Debut author Lee captures the fun of K-pop music while exploring a factory whereyoung women are scrutinized…but it’s Candace’s sense of self-worth that will get readers to cheer.” - Publishers Weekly

 “A thoughtful portrayal of determined multinational teens balancing authenticity with pursuing their dreams” - Kirkus Reviews

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account