If You Come Softly: Twentieth Anniversary Edition

ISBN9780525515487
PublisherPenguin Books
Published201/03/06
Pages192
AuthorJacqueline Woodson
FormatHardcover
Weight0.5 Kg.
Height8.6 in.
Width5.6 in.
Depth0.8 in.

If You Come Softly: Twentieth Anniversary Edition

Jacqueline Woodson

Hardcover

201/03/06

A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson--now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the author

Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he's in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he's going to be attending a fancy prep school in Manhattan, and black teenage boys don't exactly fit in there. So it's a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that they know they fit together--even though she's Jewish and he's black. Their worlds are so different, but to them that's not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way.

Buy If You Come Softly: Twentieth Anniversary Edition by Jacqueline Woodson at Fully Booked online and in Fully Booked bookstore branches.

If You Come Softly: Twentieth Anniversary Edition

Jacqueline Woodson

₱846.00


Out of Stock

D-coded

Information

ISBN9780525515487
PublisherPenguin Books
Published201/03/06
Pages192
AuthorJacqueline Woodson
FormatHardcover
Weight0.5 Kg.
Height8.6 in.
Width5.6 in.
Depth0.8 in.

Synopsis

A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson--now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the author

Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he's in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he's going to be attending a fancy prep school in Manhattan, and black teenage boys don't exactly fit in there. So it's a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that they know they fit together--even though she's Jewish and he's black. Their worlds are so different, but to them that's not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way.

Buy If You Come Softly: Twentieth Anniversary Edition by Jacqueline Woodson at Fully Booked online and in Fully Booked bookstore branches.

Editorial Reviews

* "Once again, Woodson handles delicate, even explosive subject matter with exceptional clarity, surety and depth. In this contemporary story about an interracial romance, she seems to slip effortlessly into the skins of both her main characters. . . . Both voices convincingly describe the couple's love-at-first-sight meeting and the gradual building of their trust. The intensity of their emotions will make hearts flutter, then ache as evidence mounts that Ellie's and Jeremiah's 'perfect' love exists in a deeply flawed society. Even as Woodson's lyrical prose draws the audience into the tenderness of young love, her perceptive comments about race and racism will strike a chord with black readers and open the eyes of white readers."

– Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Woodson offers readers a poetically conceived novel of young love, permeated with complications of family dynamics, racism, and violence. . . . Woodson unerringly limns the delicate intensity and passionate innocence of first love. . . . The two points of view effectively communicate the loneliness of the two sensitive teenagers and their breathless delight in discovering one another. Characterization is solid and well-developed as both parents and frirends focus into reality through the eyes of Miah and Ellie. Their conversations ever so gently open up issues of racism, self-awareness, and moral consciousness."

– The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Woodson perceptively explores varieties of love, trust, and friendship, as she develops well-articulated histories for both families. . . . A tale as rich in social and personal insight as any of Woodson's previous books."

– Kirkus Reviews