ISBN9780062447685
PublisherHarper Collins Publishers
PublishedJuly 31, 2018
Pages464
AuthorBree Barton
FormatHARDCOVER
Weight0.5 Kg.
Height8.2 in.
Width5.5 in.
Depth1.4 in.

Heart of Thorns

Bree Barton

HARDCOVER

July 31, 2018

Inventive and heart-racing, this fierce feminist teen fantasy from debut author Bree Barton explores a dark kingdom in which only women can possess magic—and every woman is suspected of having it.

Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor won’t want to miss this gorgeously written, bold novel, the first in the Heart of Thorns trilogy.

In the ancient river kingdom, where touch is a battlefield and bodies the instruments of war, Mia Rose has pledged her life to hunting Gwyrach: women who can manipulate flesh, bones, breath, and blood. The same women who killed her mother without a single scratch.

But when Mia's father announces an alliance with the royal family, she is forced to trade in her knives and trousers for a sumptuous silk gown. Determined to forge her own path forward, Mia plots a daring escape, but could never predict the greatest betrayal of all: her own body. Mia possesses the very magic she has sworn to destroy.

Now, as she untangles the secrets of her past, Mia must learn to trust her heart…even if it kills her.

Buy Heart of Thorns by Bree Barton at Fully Booked online and at Fully Booked branches in the Philippines.

Heart of Thorns

Bree Barton

₱756.00

₱378.00

Information

ISBN9780062447685
PublisherHarper Collins Publishers
PublishedJuly 31, 2018
Pages464
AuthorBree Barton
FormatHARDCOVER
Weight0.5 Kg.
Height8.2 in.
Width5.5 in.
Depth1.4 in.

Synopsis

Inventive and heart-racing, this fierce feminist teen fantasy from debut author Bree Barton explores a dark kingdom in which only women can possess magic—and every woman is suspected of having it.

Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor won’t want to miss this gorgeously written, bold novel, the first in the Heart of Thorns trilogy.

In the ancient river kingdom, where touch is a battlefield and bodies the instruments of war, Mia Rose has pledged her life to hunting Gwyrach: women who can manipulate flesh, bones, breath, and blood. The same women who killed her mother without a single scratch.

But when Mia's father announces an alliance with the royal family, she is forced to trade in her knives and trousers for a sumptuous silk gown. Determined to forge her own path forward, Mia plots a daring escape, but could never predict the greatest betrayal of all: her own body. Mia possesses the very magic she has sworn to destroy.

Now, as she untangles the secrets of her past, Mia must learn to trust her heart…even if it kills her.

Buy Heart of Thorns by Bree Barton at Fully Booked online and at Fully Booked branches in the Philippines.

Editorial Reviews

“A compulsively readable fantasy.”

– Booklist

“[An] evocative, epic ode to feminism, magic, and the wonder of fairy tales... A gripping, complex narrative balances emotion and logic in this trilogy opener, while vividly crafted characters and cinematic details create a world readers will want to get lost in.”

– Publishers Weekly

“Barton weaves a girl-powered tale of love, family, and self-acceptance, and readers who appreciate fast paced, high-stakes fantasy will be ensnared by Mia’s adventures. Those looking for rich world-building will also find much to love. A must-buy for any library where fantasy is popular.”

– School Library Journal