Ghachar Ghochar: A Novel

ISBN9780143111689
PublisherPenguin Putnam Inc
Published2017/02/07
Pages128
AuthorVivek Shanbhag
FormatPaperback
Weight0.18 Kg.
Height7.1 in.
Width5.1 in.
Depth0.4 in.

Ghachar Ghochar: A Novel

Vivek Shanbhag

Paperback

2017/02/07

“Vivek Shanbhag is an Indian Chekhov.” —Suketu Mehta, author of Maximum City

"One of the best novels to have come out of India in recent decades." —Pankaj Mishra

 
For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting, masterly novel about a family splintered by success in rapidly changing India
  
A young man's close-knit family is nearly destitute when his uncle founds a successful spice company, changing their fortunes overnight. As they move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house on the other side of Bangalore, and try to adjust to a new way of life, allegiances realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things become “ghachar ghochar”—a nonsense phrase uttered by one of the characters that comes to mean something tangled beyond repair, a knot that can't be untied. Elegantly written and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings—and consequences—of financial gain in contemporary India.

Longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award

Get Ghachar Ghochar by Vivek Shanbag online and at Fully Booked bookstores nationwide in the Philippines. 

Ghachar Ghochar: A Novel

Vivek Shanbhag

₱690.00

Information

ISBN9780143111689
PublisherPenguin Putnam Inc
Published2017/02/07
Pages128
AuthorVivek Shanbhag
FormatPaperback
Weight0.18 Kg.
Height7.1 in.
Width5.1 in.
Depth0.4 in.

Synopsis

“Vivek Shanbhag is an Indian Chekhov.” —Suketu Mehta, author of Maximum City

"One of the best novels to have come out of India in recent decades." —Pankaj Mishra

 
For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting, masterly novel about a family splintered by success in rapidly changing India
  
A young man's close-knit family is nearly destitute when his uncle founds a successful spice company, changing their fortunes overnight. As they move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house on the other side of Bangalore, and try to adjust to a new way of life, allegiances realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things become “ghachar ghochar”—a nonsense phrase uttered by one of the characters that comes to mean something tangled beyond repair, a knot that can't be untied. Elegantly written and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings—and consequences—of financial gain in contemporary India.

Longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award

Get Ghachar Ghochar by Vivek Shanbag online and at Fully Booked bookstores nationwide in the Philippines. 

Editorial Reviews

"Tenderly alert to the new passions and disappointments of a 'rising' bourgeoisie, and handling its complex material with brilliant artistic economy, Ghachar Ghochar is one of the best novels to have come out of India in recent decades."

– Pankaj Mishra, author of From the Ruins of Empire

“Ghachar Ghochar is one of the most striking novels you’ll read this decade. . . . In Shanbhag’s hands, the Indian family is revealed in layers; as one layer peels away, what lies beneath is left raw and exposed.”

– Nilanjana Roy, Business Standard (India)