1. See Detail

The Deadliest Hurricanes Then and Now: The Deadliest, Book 2 (Paperback)

Quick Overview

As a hurricane gathered in the Caribbean, blue skies covered Galveston, Texas. Scientists knew a storm was coming. But none of them were able to prepare Galveston for the force of the hurricane that hit on September 8, 1900.

The water from the storm surge pulled houses off their foundations, and the winds toppled telephone poles and trees like toothpicks. And amid the chaos, Galveston's residents did all they could to rescue one another.

Get The Deadliest Hurricanes Then and Now: The Deadliest, Book 2 (Paperback) by Deborah Hopkinson and other children's reference books online and at Fully Booked bookstore branches in the Philippines.

Out of stock
₱415.00
D-coded

Perfect for fans of I Survived and the Who Was series! Packed with graphics, photos, and facts for curious minds, this is a gripping look at America's deadliest hurricane.

As a hurricane gathered in the Caribbean, blue skies covered Galveston, Texas. Scientists knew a storm was coming. But none of them were able to prepare Galveston for the force of the hurricane that hit on September 8, 1900.

The water from the storm surge pulled houses off their foundations, and the winds toppled telephone poles and trees like toothpicks. And amid the chaos, Galveston's residents did all they could to rescue one another.

From the meteorologists tracking the storm, to the ordinary people who displayed extraordinary bravery... from the inequitable effects of the disaster, to the science of hurricanes and weather: Acclaimed Sibert Honor author Deborah Hopkinson brings voices from history to life in this fast-paced, wide-ranging narrative of the deadliest hurricane in American history. Filled with more than 50 period photographs and illustrations, charts, facts, and pull-out boxes for eager nonfiction readers.

More Information
ISBN 9781338360196
Length (cm) 13.2000
Width (cm) 1.5000
Height (cm) 19.3000
Publisher Scholastic Focus
Publication Date Jan 4, 2022
Pages (number) 208
Genre Children's Books
Author Deborah Hopkinson
Signed No
Format Paperback
Editorial Reviews N/A
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account

No Related Posts

Fully Booked Picks

Free Shipping