1. See Detail

Website upgrades coming this February 2023! Read up on the FAQs to prepare for your account migration.

All the Ever Afters: The Untold Story of Cinderella's Stepmother (Paperback)

Quick Overview

We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we?

As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess Cinderella roil the kingdom, her stepmother, Agnes, who knows all too well about hardship, privately records the true story. . . .

Get All the Ever Afters: The Untold Story of Cinderella's Stepmother (Paperback) by Danielle Teller and other contemporary fiction books online and at Fully Booked bookstore branches in the Philippines.

This title is being replenished. Stock arrival may take up to 6-8 weeks.
₱899.00
D-coded

In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella’s "evil" stepmother.

We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we?

As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess Cinderella roil the kingdom, her stepmother, Agnes, who knows all too well about hardship, privately records the true story. . . .

A peasant born into serfdom, Agnes is separated from her family and forced into servitude as a laundress’s apprentice when she is only ten years old. Using her wits and ingenuity, she escapes her tyrannical matron and makes her way toward a hopeful future. When teenaged Agnes is seduced by an older man and becomes pregnant, she is transformed by love for her child. Once again left penniless, Agnes has no choice but to return to servitude at the manor she thought she had left behind. Her new position is nursemaid to Ella, an otherworldly infant. She struggles to love the child who in time becomes her stepdaughter and, eventually, the celebrated princess who embodies everyone’s unattainable fantasies. The story of their relationship reveals that nothing is what it seems, that beauty is not always desirable, and that love can take on many guises.

Lyrically told, emotionally evocative, and brilliantly perceptive, All the Ever Afters explores the hidden complexities that lie beneath classic tales of good and evil, all the while showing us that how we confront adversity reveals a more profound, and ultimately more important, truth than the ideal of "happily ever after."

More Information
ISBN 9780062798077
Length (cm) 13.0000
Width (cm) 3.0000
Height (cm) 20.0000
Publisher Harper Collins Publishers (US)
Publication Date May 28, 2019
Pages (number) 400
Genre Contemporary Fiction
Author Danielle Teller
Signed No
Format Paperback
Editorial Reviews

“[A] charmed debut [....] Teller pulls off the spellbinding trick of turning an easy-to-hate character into a strong and conscientious female lead.”  -Publishers Weekly

“Teller’s reimagined tale. . .stands out among the best. . . . Fairy-tale aficionados will adore Teller’s complex, touching retelling of this classic story of womanhood, perseverance, and familial love, in which she strikes an ideal balance between familiar and fresh.” -Booklist (starred review)

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account

No Related Posts

February Fully Booked Picks

Website Upgrades