1. See Detail

The Last Story of Mina Lee: Export Edition (Paperback)

Quick Overview

A REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK

A profoundly moving and unconventional mother-daughter saga, The Last Story of Mina Lee illustrates the devastating realities of being an immigrant in America.

Told through the intimate lens of a mother and daughter who have struggled all their lives to understand each other, The Last Story of Mina Lee is a powerful and exquisitely woven debut novel that explores identity, family, secrets, and what it truly means to belong.

Get The Last Story of Mina Lee: Export Edition (Paperback) by Nancy Jooyoun Kim and other Contemporary Fiction books online and at Fully Booked bookstore branches in the Philippines.

In stock
₱912.00
D-coded

A REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK

A profoundly moving and unconventional mother-daughter saga, The Last Story of Mina Lee illustrates the devastating realities of being an immigrant in America.

Margot Lee's mother, Mina, isn't returning her calls. It's a mystery to twenty-six-year-old Margot, until she visits her childhood apartment in Koreatown, LA, and finds that her mother has suspiciously died. The discovery sends Margot digging through the past, unraveling the tenuous invisible strings that held together her single mother's life as a Korean War orphan and an undocumented immigrant, only to realize how little she truly knew about her mother.

Interwoven with Margot's present-day search is Mina's story of her first year in Los Angeles as she navigates the promises and perils of the American myth of reinvention. While she's barely earning a living by stocking shelves at a Korean grocery store, the last thing Mina ever expects is to fall in love. But that love story sets in motion a series of events that have consequences for years to come, leading up to the truth of what happened the night of her death.

Told through the intimate lens of a mother and daughter who have struggled all their lives to understand each other, The Last Story of Mina Lee is a powerful and exquisitely woven debut novel that explores identity, family, secrets, and what it truly means to belong.

More Information
ISBN 9780778311171
Publisher Park Row
Publication Date Sep 1, 2020
Pages (number) 384
Genre Contemporary Fiction
Author Nancy Jooyoun Kim
Signed No
Format Paperback
Editorial Reviews

“Haunting and heartbreaking, troubled threads between a mother and daughter blend together in a delicate and rich weave… With both sadness and beauty, [Kim] describes grief, regret, loss, and the feeling of being left behind. Fans of Amy Tan and Kristin Hannah will love Kim's brilliant debut. ” Booklist, STARRED review

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account

No Related Posts

15% off Award Winning Chidren's Book Sale April 12-16, 2021

Free shipping Php799