1. See Detail

Nobody Will Tell You This But Me: A True (as Told to Me) Story (Hardcover)

Quick Overview

A funny, warm, and brilliantly original memoir in which a grandmother speaks to her granddaughter from beyond the grave, telling, with candor and irresistible humor, stories from both their lives--of kinship, loyalty, tenacity, and love.

Get Nobody Will Tell You This But Me: A True (as Told to Me) Story (Hardcover) by Bess Kalb and other  biography and autobiography books online and at Fully Booked bookstore branches in the Philippines.

Out of stock
₱1,246.00
D-coded

TARGET AUDIENCE: For readers of Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, and Nora Ephron; and for fans of Sarah Silverman, Jimmy Kimmel, Judd Apatow, and Mike Birbiglia.
A funny, warm, and brilliantly original memoir in which a grandmother speaks to her granddaughter from beyond the grave, telling, with candor and irresistible humor, stories from both their lives--of kinship, loyalty, tenacity, and love.

Bess Kalb--whip-smart, Twitter-famous TV comedy writer and regular New Yorker "Daily Shouts" columnist--has saved every voicemail message her grandmother, Bobby Bell, ever left her. The two were best friends and confidantes. Bobby doted on her granddaughter; Bess adored Bobby. In 2017, nearly ninety, Bobby died.
In this moving, wildly imaginative memoir, Bobby Bell is still speaking to Bess, her inimitable voice in Bess's head bristling with the loving friction between one headstrong woman and the granddaughter who grew up to be an equal force of nature. Bobby gives to Bess critical advice (career and romance; lipstick and hair). And she relates the history that made her who she is, beginning with her mother's escape from the pogroms of Belarus in the 1880s to the cramped Brooklyn apartment where Bobby was born; and Bobby's own marriage to a successful businessman, which made possible the educations that helped her children and grandchildren flourish.
But from the time Bess was born, Bobby bestowed a unique flavor of love upon her granddaughter: tea at the Plaza; new dresses at Bloomingdales; and above all, her nobody-will-tell-you-this-but-me truths, full of devotion and well-meaning, even when they hurt.
This unusual love story celebrates the very special bond that can skip a generation and hold iron-clad. Told through documents, photographs, and verbatim dialogues between two remarkable women, it is an unforgettable account of survival and family; of women's lives across different generations; of gratitude and grief--all rolled into one hilarious, poetic, page-turning book.

More Information
ISBN 9780525654711
Length (cm) 14.0000
Width (cm) 2.0000
Height (cm) 19.0000
Publisher Knopf Publishing Group
Publication Date Mar 17, 2020
Pages (number) 224
Genre Biographies and Memoirs
Author Bess Kalb
Signed No
Format Hardcover
Editorial Reviews N/A
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account

No Related Posts

Books Take You Places

Free shipping Php799