1. See Detail

Miracle Creek: A Novel (Paperback)

Quick Overview

WINNER OF THE EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST FIRST NOVEL

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

A Best Book of the Year:
Time * The Washington Post * Today show * Real Simple * Kirkus * Library Journal * Chicago Public Library * BookPage * CrimeReads

Washington Post Bestseller * A Goodreads Choice Award Finalist * A Good Morning America Hot Summer Read * An Entertainment Weekly April Jewel * A Southern Living Best Spring Book * An Elle Reading List Selection * A People Best New Book * An IndieNext Pick * A LibraryReads Selection * A Book of the Month Selection

Angie Kim's Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author's own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life "submarine" patient. 

Get Miracle Creek: A Novel (Paperback) by Angie Kim and other contemporary fiction books online and at Fully Booked bookstore branches in the Philippines.

Out of stock
₱935.00
D-coded

WINNER OF THE EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST FIRST NOVEL

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families-and our deepest secrets

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn't even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine-a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic "dives" with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos' small community.

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night-trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges-as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

Angie Kim's Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author's own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life "submarine" patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.

More Information
ISBN 9781250251305
Length (cm) 13.0000
Width (cm) 3.0000
Height (cm) 20.0000
Publisher Picador
Publication Date Apr 7, 2020
Pages (number) 384
Genre Contemporary Fiction
Author Angie Kim
Signed No
Format Paperback
Editorial Reviews

“With so many complications and loose ends, one of the miracles of the novel is that the author ties it all together and arrives at a deeply satisfying―though not easy or sentimental―ending. Intricate plotting and courtroom theatrics, combined with moving insight into parenting special needs children and the psychology of immigrants, make this book both a learning experience and a page-turner. Should be huge.” ― Kirkus (starred review)

"Kim effectively uses her background as a trial lawyer, skillfully crafting her narrative by interweaving the stories of her characters, each of whom speak for themselves as the story progresses toward a surprise ending. With touches of mystery, legal thriller, and character-driven storytelling, where nothing is ever quite as it seems, Kim's promising debut will certainly have readers looking forward to her next offering." ― Library Journal (starred review)

“A stand-out, twisty debut . . . Kim, a former lawyer, clearly knows her stuff . . . a masterfully plotted novel about the joys and pains of motherhood, the trick mirror nature of truth, and the unforgiving nature of justice.” ― Publishers Weekly

“Powerful courtroom scenes invite comparisons to Scott Turow, but Kim’s nuanced exploration of guilt, resentment, maternal love, and multifaceted justice may have stronger appeal for readers.” ― Booklist

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account

No Related Posts

Batman Day Sale 2021

Free shipping Php799