1. See Detail

Adequate Yearly Progress: A Novel (Paperback)

Quick Overview

Each new school year brings familiar challenges to Brae Hill Valley, a struggling high school in one the biggest cities in Texas. But the teachers also face plenty of personal challenges and this year, they may finally spill over into the classroom.

Recording it all is idealistic second-year history teacher Kaytee Mahoney, whose anonymous blog gains new readers by the day as it drifts ever further from her in-class reality. And this year, a new superintendent is determined to leave his own mark on the school—even if that means shutting the whole place down.

Get Adequate Yearly Progress: A Novel (Paperback) by Roxanna Elden and other contemporary fiction books online and at Fully Booked bookstore branches in the Philippines.

In stock
Only 2 left
₱816.00
D-coded

A debut novel told with humor, intelligence, and heart, a “funny but insightful look at teachers in the workplace…reminiscent of the TV show The Office but set in an urban high school” (The Washington Post), perfect for fans of Tom Perrotta and Laurie Gelman.

Roxanna Elden’s “laugh-out-loud funny satire” (Forbes) is a brilliantly entertaining and moving look at our education system.

Each new school year brings familiar challenges to Brae Hill Valley, a struggling high school in one the biggest cities in Texas. But the teachers also face plenty of personal challenges and this year, they may finally spill over into the classroom.

English teacher Lena Wright, a spoken-word poet, can never seem to truly connect with her students. Hernan D. Hernandez is confident in front of his biology classes, but tongue-tied around the woman he most wants to impress. Down the hall, math teacher Maybelline Galang focuses on the numbers as she struggles to parent her daughter, while Coach Ray hustles his troubled football team toward another winning season. Recording it all is idealistic second-year history teacher Kaytee Mahoney, whose anonymous blog gains new readers by the day as it drifts ever further from her in-class reality. And this year, a new superintendent is determined to leave his own mark on the school—even if that means shutting the whole place down.

More Information
ISBN 9781982135027
Length (cm) 14.0000
Width (cm) 3.0000
Height (cm) 21.0000
Publisher Atria Books
Publication Date Feb 11, 2020
Pages (number) 400
Genre Contemporary Fiction
Author Roxanna Elden
Signed No
Format Paperback
Editorial Reviews

"An entertaining and humane story of what it’s like to teach high school. Already a hit with teachers when it was self-published in 2018, it will appeal to anyone who enjoys humorous workplace narratives."
Library Journal

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account

No Related Posts

Books Take You Places

Free shipping Php799