1. See Detail

Sign up for an account and enjoy Php150 off your first order with a minimum of Php2000 purchase! Use HELLOBOOKWORM promo code at checkout. For first time orders only.

Review Round-Up: Reading Allies Recommend Books to Scare You This Halloween

Review Round-Up: Reading Allies Recommend Books to Scare You This Halloween

A review is important to both authors and readers as it is a critical evaluation of a text, event, object, phenomenon, or, in our case, a book. Reviews give titles more visibility and a greater chance of getting discovered by more readers.

Read the Fully Booked Reading Allies’ recommended spooky books to read to keep your Halloween spirit high.


Misery by Stephen King

Review by Kath (@meowreadss)

From the very beginning, we already know who is in control - the book starts with the antagonist, Annie, relaying the events of the accident that happened to Misery's main character, Paul. Instead of framing it to show us how the accident took place, King's choice to let Annie be the one to tell the details establishes that she is God - Paul's God. And speaking of omnipotence, in Misery, the omniscient narrator is not "all-knowing" and "all-powerful" especially when it comes to what's inside Annie's head which makes her more horrifying as a character. Totally recommend this as this is one of the best psychological horrors I've ever read!


The Dead and The Dark by Courtney Gould

Review by Shai (@artofshai)

The Dead and The Dark got me hooked for days. Courtney Gould's debut would be perfect for fans of Stranger Things, and ghost hunting in general. Every chapter will leave you wanting to know more about the one who lurks within the shadows, and why it was there in the first place. If you're looking for a spooky read this season, I would highly recommend this!


House of Salt and Sorrow by Erin Craig

Review by Rovie (@thecaffeinatedrareder)

If you're like me who cannot fully commit to a horror, scary book but still wanted to enjoy the spooky season with some atmospheric reads, House of Salt and Sorrow is the perfect pick! It's a bonus if you also love dark retellings because this book gave a twisted take on the 12 Dancing Princesses. The writing is truly immersive and eerie, and the plot is haunting with a bit of mystery on it. Curl up with a hot beverage and light a scented candle to complete the experience! 


Review by Reina Regina (@reinaxregina)

I wandered into Erin A. Craig's haunting, Gothic world thinking this was going to be The Twelve Dancing Princesses meets sea kingdom lore. 

Instead, I was treated to a curse causing grisly deaths and a manor filled with ghostly apparitions!

If you're into fairy tale retellings but with the Brothers Grimm elements turned up high to make it appropriate for the season, House of Salt and Sorrows is a perfect read for you. (Just make sure to leave the lights on after.)


The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco

Review by @thebookconcierge

It's like the Grudge and the Ring combined and it made me turn on the light whenever I read it. The description is very detailed that you can imagine everything in your head. It kept me up for how many nights.


The Year of the Witching by Alexis Henderson

Review by Jaed Princess (@wanderlustbibliophile)

If your looking for a dark, gothic, bloody, witchy read this is the book for you. I applaud Alexis Henderson for the way she blends the supernatural with the real. She didn’t just focus on witchcraft itself but also showed real themes such as racism, oppression, and abuse. Immanuel’s development thru out the story as a feminist heroine was so satisfying to read about while the world-building and the setting were my favorites of it all.


The Sun Down Motel by Simone St. James

Review by Rafi and Trizia (@pagesandbeyond)

Perfect Halloween read. It has the elements of ghosts and mystery and it takes place in a small town. Great setting and great characters told in two timelines. Definitely, a must-read. 


Review by Renzanne (@renzannereads)

This is one heck of a paranormal murder mystery. I don't usually feel easily scared while reading but this book left me feeling creeped out. I remember when I stumbled upon this book on bookstagram, I was already sold on the plot. I got so intrigued with how the story behind a mysterious disappearance that happened in the past can be unraveled after 30 years. 


And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

Review by Lenn 

And Then There Were None is an intense thriller read that kept me up all night. It's unputdownable and unpredictable which is what I always look for in thrillers. I definitely loved the ending and thought that it was such a powerful way to end a good book. I highly recommend this if you're up for some slasher reads!


The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

Review by Julia Delgado (@juliaa_delgado)

It's the blueprint of haunted house horror stories, and a great first read if you're just getting into the genre. What makes this a scary read is its eerie atmosphere & setting---it's a slow-burn type of horror book and definitely more spine-chilling. I always recommend this to fans of the Netflix series, since this book is its source material.


The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

Review by @buntonghiningaph

I love this book! I love the short chapters. It was fast-paced and one of the most unputdownable books I've read this year! There was a lot going on and each chapter brings new information to light. Now I understand what the hype is all about.


House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

Review by Liez (@topsyturveyreader)

When I read the prologue, I knew that this book would give me an adventure that would surely give me goosebumps. The writing is exceptional for it is very detailed and I was shocked at how I vividly imagined most of the scenarios that still give me the creeps until this day. This book is really perfect for fans of Stranger Things because it is a mix of horror, thriller, and mystery which is also an ideal read for the spooky season. 


Verity by Colleen Hoover

Review by Jeca (@mayumireads)

This book really gave me the creeps. It was thrilling and has gripping chapters. And before you could notice, you already finish the book. I remembered reading it in the middle of the night and finishing it in hours, and I couldn’t sleep, I imagined Verity peeping in our window. This one is pretty scary. 


Horrorstör by Grady Hendrix

Review by Sandra Isabel (@readsandramble)

What’s a better way to spend Halloween than read a spooky book like Horrorstör? A quirky-looking novel imitating an Ikea catalog—this will send chills down your spine as scary things happen inside one of the happiest places on earth. Aside from the storyline, you will also enjoy the illustrations inside this book—a home delivery order form, discount cards, a map to the Orsk showroom, and up to the smallest detail, like an item barcode containing the number of the beast. It is a horror book like no other! 


Final Girls by Riley Sager

Review by Dane (@goreadnow)

This book will keep you on the edge of your seat. There are a lot of twists and turns that'll keep you turning page after page wanting to know 'whodunnit?'. The perfect thriller for me.


It by Stephen King 

Review by Ica Hontiveros-Cheng

Technically this is the copy of the "prince of horror cosplay" himself, Prince De Guzman, who is well known for his Pennywise cosplay. Scary read well thanks to the film I can "see" the scenes more vividly and Pennywise is just so scary that I can't help but look out the window at night and "see" him there. Or when I'm walking out and there's a sewer or canal, I have to run fast to get across it, in fear of a clown arm grabbing my leg. As usual, Stephen King, the master of horrors, expertly weaves a frightening tale that will scare children and adults alike. We all have our own fears and nightmares and having them manifested through a flesh-eating clown, makes it doubly scarier.


Share your love for reading with other bibliophiles! Get your book reviews featured by tagging us on Instagram with the hashtag #FBReviewRoundUp, publishing your reviews on Fully Booked Online, or joining the Fully Booked Affiliate Program. 

Be a Fully Booked Reading Ally! The program aims to collaborate with people who are aligned with our goal of helping readers find their next great read. 

When you become a Reading Ally, you can get early access to upcoming releases and receive a commission for every attributed purchase at Fully Booked Online generated from your content. Sign up today: https://bit.ly/3PY2Yn5.

More book news and reviews are available through our First Look Club reviewers, Reading Allies, and Fully Booked Online. Know more about the Fully Booked affiliate program at www.fullybookedonline.com/ReadingAllies.



Related Products

Payday Sale November 29 - December 1, 2022

Free Shipping