1. See Detail

Enjoy free shipping for a minimum order of Php799 and get great reads delivered straight to your doorstep!

Algorithms to Live By: The Computer Science of Human Decisions (Paperback)

Quick Overview

What should we do, or leave undone, in a day or a lifetime? How much messiness should we accept? What balance of the new and familiar is the most fulfilling? These may seem like uniquely human quandaries, but they are not. Computers, like us, confront limited space and time, so computer scientists have been grappling with similar problems for decades. And the solutions they’ve found have much to teach us.

Get Algorithms to Live By: The Computer Science of Human Decisions (Paperback) by Brian Christian and other psychology books online and at Fully Booked bookstore branches in the Philippines.

Out of stock
₱1,045.00
D-coded

A fascinating exploration of how computer algorithms can be applied to our everyday lives, helping to solve common decision-making problems and illuminate the workings of the human mind

All our lives are constrained by limited space and time, limits that give rise to a particular set of problems. What should we do, or leave undone, in a day or a lifetime? How much messiness should we accept? What balance of new activities and familiar favorites is the most fulfilling? These may seem like uniquely human quandaries, but they are not: computers, too, face the same constraints, so computer scientists have been grappling with their version of such problems for decades. And the solutions they've found have much to teach us.

In a dazzlingly interdisciplinary work, acclaimed author Brian Christian (who holds degrees in computer science, philosophy, and poetry, and works at the intersection of all three) and Tom Griffiths (a UC Berkeley professor of cognitive science and psychology) show how the simple, precise algorithms used by computers can also untangle very human questions. They explain how to have better hunches and when to leave things to chance, how to deal with overwhelming choices and how best to connect with others. From finding a spouse to finding a parking spot, from organizing one’s inbox to understanding the workings of human memory, Algorithms to Live By transforms the wisdom of computer science into strategies for human living.

• For readers of Daniel Kahneman, Malcolm Gladwell, and Steve Pinker

More Information
ISBN 9781250118363
Publisher Picador USA
Publication Date Apr 4, 2017
Pages (number) 368
Genre N/A
Author Brian Christian, Tom Griffiths
Signed No
Format Paperback
Editorial Reviews N/A
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account

No Related Posts

Sign up for newsletter

Free Shipping Php 799